Women’s Premier League

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) began in 2009. It consists of the top 8 women’s club teams in the country. The WPL is split into 2 conferences (blue and red) based on the previous years rankings with 4 teams in each conference. The WPL was created to serve the following goals:

1. Increase the number of highest quality competitive matches played by women’s club teams in the United States

2. Provide a competitive structure that offers incentive to clubs to perform well throughout the course of an entire season, as well as at the National Championships

3. Encourage teams in all Divisions to consistently perform at a higher level of play by clearly identifying competitive requirements and expectations at each level and by creating a mechanism for promotion to a higher league, D2 to D1 and D1 to Premiership, as appropriate

4. Support the growth and sustainability of each member club, with an ideal of a strong, long-lasting club with well-organized administration, a consistent and competitive B-side and a successful youth program

5. Honor a key tradition among women’s rugby clubs that every player who is interested is welcome, regardless of skill level or athletic potential

6. Promote the development of all players

7. Support the development of the women’s game by using only National Panel referees for every League match and the National Championship

8. Achieve these goals without significantly increasing the amount of money teams are already spending to compete

Currently, the eight teams in the Women’s Premier League are:

All Blues
San Diego Surfers
DC Furies
New York Rugby Club
Atlanta Harlequins
Glendale Raptors

WPL Logo